CLICK HERE FOR THOUSANDS OF FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES »

Sunday, 10 February 2008

THE Dying Breed

The other day i was behind an Elephant of a vehicle (SUV) on my motorcycle. It was wild, i couldn’t shake off the analogies of Animal kingdoms to vehicular comparisons, possibly due to the Idea that Down Town was a giant water hole, among other things.
Now back to the Elephant.
I tried to keep away from its speratic movements, but i ended behind it on a red light, then I noticed the reason of its random driving. Inside his vehicle had several LCD screens playing adult entertainment, and not the kind you would find in an Opera, or Circus but ones you discover underneath your uncles reading glasses and bowel of cereal (my uncle sucked at hiding them).
The shock was not the idea that the man was possibly doing his deed while driving (although it should have been), but what the video aired.
"Kabuki Bukkake" and stared several Filipina women.

This angered me.
No, not the exploitation of women, or the poor guy this driver would eventually pay to 'Detail/Clean' his Elephants interior unaware of the surprise that lies ahead.
No, its this:
Filipinos marketing themselves as other nationalities.

I dated this girl, and in one of our conversations regarding the class we took earlier in the college semester, she regarded herself 'Asian'. I had no problem with this, but the problem did occur on what she said afterwards which to summaries was this:
1/8=Chinese 1/4=Japanese, some French, and Filipino.

It blew me away.
First off... was that even mathematically possible?
secondly, i asked her, "when growing up, did your parents call it an 'Egg Roll' or 'Lumpia' ?" she said "Lumpia"
"THEN YOU’RE FREAKIN FILIPINO!"

Lets just say the date ended with no Kabuki love....
Being a Filipino is a Dying Breed due to our desire to fit in the box of world culture, and finding something to anchore us with something outside of who we really are. Is it ignorance of our own history? Is it the shame of our culture? Or possibly the submitting to white America in classifying us cuz were too lazy to classify ourselves?

0 comments: